Driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license is considered a criminal traffic violation here in the state of Florida. Even though having a suspended or revoked license might seem much less dangerous to other drivers than something like speeding or running a red light (typical moving violations), it’s considered much more serious in the eyes of the law.
License suspension is less permanent than revocation and means that your rights to drive are temporarily frozen, usually due to civil offenses, such as falling behind on your alimony payments, or minor offenses, such as earning too many points on your driver’s license. Depending on the civil or criminal matter that led to your sanction, your license could instead be revoked, which means the state takes away your rights to drive for good. Common reasons for license revocation include murder/manslaughter charges after a driving accident and an excessive number of DUI convictions.
Florida statutes trust that your driver’s license would only have been suspended or revoked if the judge had a good reason for doing so, which is why you could be facing a range of criminal consequences if you’re caught disregarding the judge’s orders. It’s critical to have an attorney for suspended license looking out for your best interest if you’ve been pulled over in order to shield you from the severe consequences.
The Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Florida
If you’ve been pulled over for driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license, you could be facing up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines if convicted. The severity of the consequences will vary depending on whether this is your first offense and what type of charge led to the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license in the first place.
Those charged with a second degree misdemeanor for a first conviction face up to 60 days in jail and $500 fine, while second-time offenders charged with a first degree misdemeanor could be looking at up to a year in jail and double the fine. A third or subsequent conviction for this offense results in a felony charge and is punishable by up to five years in prison.
As you can see, the criminal consequences are severe, and that’s not even to mention the potential impact on your personal life, your family, your job, and your ability to ever drive again. If you’ve been pulled over for driving when you shouldn’t have been doing so, you need a revoked license attorney to protect your freedom and spare your criminal record from another hit.
Speedy Legal is Here to Assist You After You’ve Been Pulled Over!
If you’ve been pulled over for driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license in or around Safety Harbor, Florida, the driving license suspension attorneys at Speedy Legal are ready to help. We’re familiar with Florida traffic laws and will help you navigate the court system to try and get your charges reduced or dropped entirely. We’ve represented hundreds of criminal traffic violation cases and have a track record of success in and out of the courtroom.
Not only do we offer our services at a better price than our competitors, but we strive to save you money in the long run by avoiding the much heavier fines of a serious traffic violation. Our dedicated license reinstatement lawyer Chris Shaw, Esq., is here to represent you, ensuring that you get the best chance at beating the ticket. With more than a decade of experience practicing as an attorney for license revocation hearings, he knows what it takes to fight for you and your right to drive.